Promises I made to myself

Throughout the course of my life, I’ve been incredibly inspired by different kinds of Journalism. The first kind of journalism that made me want to be a part of the industry was Fashion Journalism– the excitement of photographing and reporting on new trends in clothing and culture seemed so surreal– and when I pictured my life as a fashion journalist, I saw myself behind-the-scenes with top designers like Karl Lagerfeld (Chanel), Tom Ford, Diane Von Furstenberg. I was in the fifth grade, and all I could think about was New York Fashion Week and all the fabulous-ness that encompassed it. I’d force my mom to buy me Interview Magazine and Vogue every month and I’d flip through the pages, learning every name (models, designers, writers.. anything) in hopes that my name would be printed in one of those publications.

Something happened during the time of my Vogue craze, I stopped caring about fashion– though, I really cared about the people in the art world. I was introduced to documentaries. I thought they beautifully captured people, places, cities, etc. I was enamored by the story telling that came with documenting a certain issue or a special person. That’s when I think I really discovered my interest in becoming a journalist. I loved to watch people talk about their lives, I still do, and I love being behind the camera. The documentary called “Promises” really changed my life in terms of subject matter– and how, for most of my life, I had been so attracted to beautiful and wonderful subjects (such as art and fashion), but I realized that there were much more controversial things happening around the world, but they’re not getting the attention that music and films were and still are. The documentary covered a group of children from both Israel and Palestine, and how they interacted with one another, over the years– and how the conflict between the two countries affected their friendship. As a Middle Eastern, this documentary really set my goals on heading to the Middle East and discovering the deep-rooted conflicts and cultures that reside in the ancient land.

Ever since “Promises”, I have watched MANY documentaries– each contributing to my deep appreciation for them and the people they discover. As a journalist, I could only hope to bring attention to the subjects people don’t think about twice– and make them apparent in our society.

Leave a Reply

